Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

What's the purpose of R105 in the Hot Rod Deluxe 2 tone stack?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What's the purpose of R105 in the Hot Rod Deluxe 2 tone stack?

I mean: the 220k resistor parallel to the bass pot and which goes to ground, unlike in a typical Bassman tone stack...

In my understanding of self-taught hobbyist, it increases the Q of the mid dip and slightly shifts it down, giving more low mids & high mids... hence these frequencies between 800hz & 2khz which certainly "cut" the mix but don't sound Fenderish to my humble ears...

if it has also any technical utility, I'll be grateful to learn something new. :-)

Thx in advance to confirm, correct or complete my thoughts (I plan to mod the amp, so I don't want to damage it because of something that I wouldn't have understood).

Huh.
    I never took notice of that resistor.
    It would seem that it would make the bass & mid 'interactive'.
    http://www.blueguitar.org/new/schem/...deluxe_pre.gif

Comment

Originally posted by Jazz P Bass View Post
      Huh.
      I never took notice of that resistor.
      It would seem that it would make the bass & mid 'interactive'.
      http://www.blueguitar.org/new/schem/...deluxe_pre.gif
      Thx for your answer.

Whatever is does, it "squeezes" the spectrum and boosts the high mids in an unpleasant way.

Having already soldered a jumper across the mid pot, I plan to clip this 220k resistor, therefore...

Opinions and advices welcome. :-)

Comment

Doesn't it just limit the max bass?
        But in that case they could have got the same effect by using a 100k bass control.
        I don't see how it does all this other stuff mentioned, especially altering the Q of the mid scoop
        Pete
        My band:- http://www.youtube.com/user/RedwingBand

Comment

Originally posted by pdf64 View Post
          Doesn't it just limit the max bass?