Filament problem: help please!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Filament problem: help please!

Gibson GA42RVT w/ 6L6GC - has started to cut out while playing, sound fades out for @ 5 or 6 seconds, then comes back. Was initially very intermittent, now more frequently. This amp has DC on filaments. Heater lines from transformer tie into - for lack of a better way to describe it - a little black square @ 1" square w. 4 legs, one from each corner. I have 6.5 V AC into it and this 'black square' apparently transforms this AC to DC. AC power in from transformer is rock solid - does not change. W/ all tubes out (pre and power) the DC current out of the DC legs is 8.3 DC but if I let it run for @ 5 minutes, it slowly climbs to 8.6 DC (and beyond?) Little black box (can you tell I am not an electrician?) does not heat up unloaded. W/ all tubes in, current DC out is 6.3 but the black box starts heating up and gets HOT. Too hot to touch and in fact if I leave my test leads hooked on, the little plastic jackets around the alligator clips almost seem like they may start to melt if they're touching it. Should this thing get hot like this? What is this thing? As it heats up and I let the amp run, the DC current out to the tubes slowly drops: 6, 5.9, 5.8, 5.7, etc. etc. etc. Will sometimes settle around 5.4, sometimes around 4.8, I can watch it for a while and I'll hear a louder hum from the transformer (that seems where it is coming from) and it will cut out completely and the heaters die, then come back... I have swapped tubes in all positions, no change. I have checked for shorts and cannot find any. Re-soldered some connections which looked suspect, still can't find any bad connections. Jiggling tubes, jiggling wires - there does not seem to be any rhyme or reason as to what causes the DC heater voltage to go up and down. I am losing my hair!!!!!! If I turn the amp off and let cool down for 5 minutes or so, turn it on and DC voltage is back to 6.3 and the w