Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Power Amp Buzz

Hi All,

I am a newbie to the forum so I hope I found the right Forum . The issue I have is I am getting a buzz from my monitor speakers. I believe it is ground loop related. I have a Peavey amp for monitors and two crown amps for the mains. I have separate outlets for both. I disconnected all the inputs from the amps but I still get a AC hum from the monitor speakers. The amps are switched on via a hospital grade switches in the sound room. All of the amps are rack mounted. I did noticed that when I leave the main amps off the monitors are a lot quieter. I have ground lifts on all of the plugs. If I don't use them the hum is 100% louder. The mains drive a Bose Sub woofer and arrays. I also noticed that as I was bolting the monitor amp into the rack I could hear noise as I turned the mounting screw.

Have you tried plugging everything into one outlet? Also sometimes when you stack or rack mount, just the proximity can create a buzz from other transformers. I would check that first. It's going to be a process of elimination as the buzz could be coming from a lot of things.

Comment

If the amp hums with nothing plugged into the inputs, I start to doubt ground loops. WIthout the input cable, there is no path for a loop.

Pull the monitor amp out of the rack and sit it on a chair or something. No input connected. Does the hum still come out the speaker? If not, then slide the amp slowly back into the rack. Does the hum grow?

SOmetimes the field of the power transformer on some other piece of gear will couple into your amp circuits. I have had situations where simply changing the order of the stack in the rack made the difference. If moving the amp away from the others makes the hum die away, then that is what is happening.

Yes, sometimes you need to insulate the gear from the rack.
      Education is what you're left with after you have forgotten what you have learned.

Comment