Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Rail Pickups low output?

Hi all,
    I am new to guitar wiring but not soldering.

I bought this rail pickup for the neck and middle pickup of my strat copy.

http://store.guitarfetish.com/nenemaourhon1.html

i just wired them and they worked but are quiet. noise is at a low level. but the output is quiet! significantly less than the single coils.

now these rails have a metal thing of posts so it looks like a single coil pickup. and i accidentally ripped those off. long story. and i could see that a tiny tiny wire that ran between the coils WAS connected to it but now severed. looks like a coil wire actually. ALSO there was one lead (of four) coming out from the coils wrapping. this severed and i reconnected it using thicker gauge wire. then i put the whole thing back together and that when i found that the pickups work fine but sound very quiet.

my question is, is it possible that by one of my errors i have made them perform quietly? or is it a matter of "if they work then they work"
    because the original single coil at the bridge is MUCH louder.

thanks,
    marco.

It sounds at though some of the coil wires are shorting together. So the signal is not going the full distance through the coil but shortcutting somewhere. That would cause the problem you describe.

Can you take the larger gauge patch wire out and resolder the two coil wires together again? You may need to carefully unwind the wire one wrap and do this. Then cover the solder joint with some scotch tape or fingernail polish. It is important that the new solder does not have any pointy bits. This will dig into the coil and short it.
    Roadhouse Pickups

Comment