Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• total newbie, question on avt150 parts

Dear all,

Thank you for reading this, I will be as brief as possible. I've done the usual searching around online and have found my likely issue... In one sentence, I did a stupid thing and blew my avt150 head, I opened her up and the only obvious damage is a shot fuse. I'm guessing that the seemingly infamous TDA7293's are shot as well based on my forum searches thus far.

I have a few questions and would be so very thankful for your response, keep in mind however that the trick if you will is that I have no electronics background whatsoever and hence keeping things as laymen-ish as possible would be super cool. (that being said, I have full confidence with my hands and soldering and such shouldn't be an issue, etc.)

1) I cannot read the fuse and the manual to the amp says nothing... exactly what fuse do I need, and where do I purchase one?
    2) Would anyone find sympathy lol and suggest reading material, or ideally provide a 'walkthrough' as to where these chips are that I'm supposed to remove and replace? All I see is a bunch of boards and a 'big heavy looking thing encased in metal with copper wire in it' lol.
    3) As far as how I did it, please keep all teasing to a minimum... I'm not dumb I just tend to do dumb things. And yes I have clearly learned the hard way. If the manual says don't do something then they're probably right.

I should mention that sure, I suppose I can take it in for service but I do wish to address this myself, I don't see any harm in trying at least. I think once I figure out what everything is conceptually then perhaps things will make more sense? But that will take some time, for now I just want to have it ready to go for next practice.

Be brave, any takers? Ask away and I will do all I can to answer your inquiry. Thanks in advance. -George