Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Marshall 100 high voltage AC question

Hey,
    This is my first post, but I have been building amps for a few months now with the help of this forum.

I'm building a Marshall "Plexi" 100 using the Hoffman and ceriatone design ideas and referencing the Super Lead 100 schematic on schematic heaven. I'm recycling a TCM head (made in Ottawa Canada) which seemed to use the same tubes (4 El34's, 3 12ax7's). My question is this:

I omitted the 2 .22uf caps connected to the high voltage AC right before the rectifier, and am using 1n4007 diodes. I have 600vdc caps in this range and was wondering if they will be ok? I know the caps are supposed to smooth out the AC "spikes", and the diodes seem to drift until AC leaks through and a fuse blows. I am getting higher voltage handling diodes, and hopefully this will help as well.

Thanks.
    -Dave

If your 1n4007 diodes are "drifting" they are bad componants. I doubt that is the case. Probably 99% of the 100 watt Marshall's and their clone cousins have used that diode in that application. I think your problem is somewhere else.

Don't worry about the .22 caps yet. Most amps don't use them. Get the power supply working properly first and then add them if you like.

If your blowing fuses there is something wrong. I'm sure you've checked and rechecked your work, but you need to keep checking until you find the problem.

Pull the tubes and take some voltage readings so we can see whats going on better. B+ after the rectifier, screen voltage and plate voltage on each el34 socket. Do you know what the PT voltages are? Does the fuse still blow with no tubes in?

Also, draw a schematic of what you've done so far based on what you find in YOUR build. That can help you to find errors. Or at least you can post it here so we might be able to.

Chuck
    "Take two placebos, works twice as well." Enzo