Designing my first tube guitar preamp: a few questions

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Designing my first tube guitar preamp: a few questions

Hello everyone, as the title implies, I am in the process of designing my own tube guitar preamp. I have never used tubes in a circuit before, so I am sure to have some general questions to ask as I go along in the design process to make sure I dont blow anything up/hurt myself. I have a general understanding of most things I'll be doing, and most of the questions I'll have will just ask for confirmation to my own ideas, with maybe a few asking for an explanation. So, here is my preliminary schematic as of now, with power supply and input gain stage:

The tubes I am using are 6247 Subminiature triodes I picked up on ebay. (got 6 of them for $13, not a bad deal I thought).

First questions are regarding the power supply:

1. My transformer is one I took from an old 25 watt SS amp that I broke (accidentally... of course). It was used as a step-down from 120v to 36v. I want to use it as a step up to give me the 250v plate voltage I plan to use, by dividing the mains voltage in such a way that It multiplies to the exact voltage I need. Seeing as how I am only designing a preamp, and not an entire amp, the total power demands on the transformer should be less. Yes the voltage will be higher, but the overall power demands should be much less. I have zero documented information about this transformer since it is quite old. Do you think it will be safe to use my transformer in this way?

2. In my power supply (before the transformer), do you think 5w rated resistors will be adequate to divide the mains voltage? I dont know how much current comes from the mains, only the voltage, so I chose this value just to be safe (and I hope it will be).