Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• When to start repair.

Hello.
    I have a mesa 2:90 that has a channel randomly dropping out (a-side). The volume will get halved + and the sound will go full treble. I have replaced all tubes (power and inverter) and cleaned all pots/sockets.
    I have some slight knowledge of electronic circuits and have built a few stomp boxes. I also have been reading MANY posts/forums on tube amp repair (and the dangers involved with high voltage caps). Knowing that there are lethal voltages stored in those filters ect. I really want to give it a shot repairing this thing. I am auto tech (for over 20 years) by trade so it tears me apart having to send it out for someone to repair.
    My question(s) would be..

Is there anyone here that started repairing amps without any formal training?

If so, aside from making sure the caps are drained (think I have read just about everything there is to read on amp repair safety) what other pitfalls do I need to lookout for?

I am not looking to blindly go sticking my meter into/onto in inner workings of my amp. I just want to find out what's going on with this thing and see if I can repair it.
    I am going to need to check voltages on this amp (so now my chances of shock are much higher ).Any good safety tips that will help here?

I am only armed with "internet smarts " and a general good sense of mechanical repair knowledge. A also don't have time in my life to take an electronics repair class (don't think there are any in my area focused on tube amp repair/service anyway).
    If there is a good web sight dedicated towards people wanting to get into repair/building (aside from this great forum) I am open to links too.
    Also I don't have a scope so it's going to be things I can only check with my Fluke.

I know I am going to get a lot of "DON"T DO IT" posts here but that's not what I am looking for.. I am trying to do this as safely as I can.
    Thanks for the help.
    Jd