Marshall MG50DFX No sound from main input

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Marshall MG50DFX No sound from main input

Right here goes, i'm posting a new thread rather than hi-jacking the previous chaps thread with a similar but not the same problem.

The problem I have is that no sound is coming from the speaker on either channel when I plug my guitar into the main input, unless I turn it up to max on the volume at which point I can just about hear some sound leakage from the speaker.

If I plug my heaphones in, it sounds fine.

The speaker works, as i've connected that directly to another source. And the CD-in works too.

I've had the head out and sprayed contact cleaner on everything, and still no improvement.

From here, I'm now stuck as to what I can do. I'm a complete novice when it comes to amplifiers and electrical equipment in general if i'm honest, but I can normally put my mind to such things if I know where to start. I wont be beaten by this!!!

Appreciate any help that is offered.

Cheers

Nick

Schematic is here:
    http://www.ampix.org/albums/userpics...ll_MG50dfx.pdf

Do you have any test tools? Do you know how to solder?
    ST in Phoenix

Comment

If it's OK at the headphones out, it looks to me like the signal is good all the way to the power amp chip input. So, my guess is that you need to replace the TD7293, but I'd wait for confirmation from one of the more experienced techs here.
      ST in Phoenix

Comment

Hi Nick,
        Try connecting the FX Send on the rear panel to the FX to the FX Return Left (Mono) with a guitar patch cord. Does that bring it to life when you play a guitar into the front panel input?
        Tom

Comment

Originally posted by Phostenix View Post
          Schematic is here:
          http://www.ampix.org/albums/userpics...ll_MG50dfx.pdf

Do you have any test tools? Do you know how to solder?