Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• measuring resonant peak

Hey,

How can I measure the resonant peak of my Pickups?
    Is there any special Equipment?

Yes, you do need some equipment, though you can get it for cheap off of E-bay. It can not be done with a multimeter alone.

The simplest method is to have a cheap audio oscillator (range of 20-20,000hz), and a good multimeter. I'll detail the method a little later today for you.

bel

Comment

... like this one?
      Apex AAO1 Audio Oscillator

or this one?

OMNITRONIC LH-100 Audio-Oszillator

Comment

Ok, first off I am no expert in this arena. I'm explaining this as it was explained to me. Before I get into how I measure it, I want to put down some notes:

- Measuring Resonance Peak is one thing, understanding it is another. As I understand it, this measurement is the point that the Inductive reactance and Capacitive Reactance are equal, showing the circuit as purely resistive.
        - Lots of things can effect this point, most notably adding metal to the circuit.. i.e. shielding.
        - When measuring resonance peak, you should state WHERE you are measuring it. You will have two completely different readings if you measure it at the jack versus the pickup. Joe Gwinn gave me good advise and said that if I was measuring just a pickup (outside of a guitar) that I should call it "unloaded resonant peak".

Now here is what you will need:

- A good multi meter that can measure AC voltage and frequency
        - 1 mohm Resistor (in a pinch you can use two 500k guitar pots daisy chained together in series).
        - Sweepable Audio Oscillator (low distortion) or Function Generator.
        - A couple alligator clips help, but are not nessesary.