Death cap

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Death cap

Hi, as some of you know, I've bought a Silvertone 1484, and I've intended to remove the death cap on that sucker. Now, since I'm new to electronics, and haven't got an education, can someone please give me some info on where it is and how to remove it?

Schematic of the amp:

http://www.miduho.com/jp/st/amp-kair...itar%20amp.gif

Thanks! J.T

its c31 (0.05uf) going from power lines/switch to ground.

You should install a safe 3 prong grounded power cord too, see:
    Install - 3 Prong Power Cord on a Vintage Fender Amp | Guitar Files(TM)

you can also avoid some noise by adding so called X and Y caps, see here:
    ABC's of Safety (Interference Suppression) Capacitors for Tube Radios

Or by installing a IEC type cord inlet filter which includes X/Y caps, and maybe a fuse:
    6A/250V POWER INLET & RFI MODULE-MPJA, Inc.

Comment

Remember, the green wire to ground would be the green-yellow in Europe.

Comment

DEATH CAP....

Does anyone actually know anyone that has been killed, seriously or mildly injured by this much maligned capacitor?

Seriously... in my opinion, this death cap term is, wanna be amp guru, NET driven hysteria with virtually very little real world data to back it up.
        Most of these caps across a 120v-240v line are rated at 400v to +600v, plastic film, poly something or another caps and not cheap junk.

To be honest, I think I have only seen one or two of these caps gone bad since I built my first vacuum tube radio in 1963-1964.
        By comparison, I've seen a hundred or more frayed power cords dangling from a sharp hole in a chassis where I was afraid to touch it and the goof ass is still using the damn thing!