John Mayer's BIG DIPPER'S or klein S5's

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• John Mayer's BIG DIPPER'S or klein S5's

i got some local boys constantly asking me to make a set of strat pickups to sound like john mayer's pickups or like the klein s5's,i am fairly new to winding just a couple of years i probably only wound a couple dozen strat pickups some fantastic sounding pickups n some that sounded like crap . but anyway i was going to try to wind a set alnico 5 with heavy formvar 43 & or 42 . in this post which is very helpful says they are plain enamel wire not formvar
    http://music-electronics-forum.com/t3490/
    but i got the heavy formvar & poly also i not looking for any PE at the moment
    so in this post i gives you a rough idea how the big dipper are .someone said 250 tpl loose winding . i know my first pickups i wound were loser than i wound now & i know they lack the bass not so boomy wound loose but im not sure if you would call it scooped .....so any info & anyone's opinion would certainly help .we all know fender don't stretch the truth HAHA
    Last edited by copperheadroads; 03-21-2010, 03:53 AM.
    "UP here in the Canada we shoot things we don't understand"

I've set up a few JM strats and took some specs of the pickups just to have. They definitely have 42 gauge plain enamel You should be able to use single build poly nylon and get the same tone as PE. My gauss meter shows the magnets to be Alnico 5. Neck 5.75k, RWRP Middle 6.31k, Bridge 7.51k. They sound pretty good. Nothing special though IMO.

Comment

thanks i think its a bunch of bull about scooped mids ,i was thiinking heavy formvar has less mids kind of scooped i guess .i was going to try that wind them with HF to the same resistance as the dig dippers maybe a little lower ...

Comment

Originally posted by copperheadroads View Post