Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Ghost note on bandmaster???

Hi everybody!

I have a BF bandmaster, and it has that constricted distorted note riding on every note. Could it be failing lectro caps as explained on the tube debuging page?

http://www.geofex.com/ampdbug/distort.htm

Thanks a lot for your help guys.

Bye.

Max.

It could be, how old are the caps? Did the problem evolve or did it suddenly happen one day?

Comment

Well, caps seem brand new thought the guy said a local tech did the job, to me it looks like a hack. The caps are covered in sharpie, to identify what they are nd what they do, thought i think they're spragues (blue ones!) Seller said the amp was fine before shipping. (doubtfull!) There's few steel parts missing, chassis straps, tube shields, cap pan. There's some resistors "in the air" on the tube sockets, which have been repalced, plus some new one ohms (as if a tech would need them!) on the cathodes! (thoses are going away as soon as i can!) Both channels are affected. I'm enquiring, because someone might have heard/seen this before. I gonna take the scope to it as soon as i can.

Thanks a lot and best regards.

Max.

Comment

cap testing?

Hi everybody!

I did a bit of testing. The distortion on top of the note decays faster than the note itself, dying about mid time of teh sustain, in a crackling noise, like when you crumple polyester film.

BTW, ok, it might be caps, but besides measuring the resistance of the caps, how do i check them? Do i look for exessive ripple?

Comment

From your last post I supect that it is more likely to be a bad speaker - voice coil rubbing - rather than the HT electrolytics. Try plugging in a different speaker cab to test for this, if you haven't already.
          If no difference then possibly parasitic oscillation, bad valves / bases, or a whole load of things. Check the speakers to rule them out.
          Good luck - Peter
          My band:- http://www.youtube.com/user/RedwingBand