Capacitors??? HELP!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Capacitors??? HELP!

Hi guys i'm new to building pedal, and one thing that is confusing me is capacitors!! Which types should i be using in certain areas when builiding, there are so many such as ceramic, poly, electrolitic!
    Help!!
    Thanks
    Ian

There are ideas out there on why such and such an esoteric cap ouoght to be used in any particular spot, but for the most part it doesn;t matter.

Make up a parts list for your project. Make a grid on a sheet of paper - like a calendar.

Down the left list each cap, and across the top make columns for electrolytic, film, ceramic, tantalum, silver-mica, steam powered, and sodium free.

I think as you look each part up in the catalog of some large supplier like Mouser, you will find out that for a power supply cap like 47uf or 220uf or whatever, the only choice you have is electrolytics. That is anything over a very few ufds.

And fractions of ufs generally won;t come in lytics. Try finding an electrolytic 0.047uf cap. Good luck.

Right around 1uf, you might find a choice, but the elytic will be small and convenient sized, while a 1uf film cap will be the size of your whole footpedal.

Ceramic discs come in sizes mostly up to about 0.1uf and down to the smallest value. I am sure there are larger ones out there, but 0.1 mostly is the top.

SIlver-mica caps are nice caps, but tend to have a much more limited range of values available.

Tantalum caps have certain interesting qualities, but they are also TOTALLY intolerant of voltage and polarity problems. I don;t like them.

You are building pedal, so your circuits run on a 9v battery or a low voltage wall wart, right? As long as the voltage rating on your caps is twice the power supply rating or higher, you are OK. The higher the voltage rating is for a cap, the larger it will be in size. You can use 600v film caps in your circuit, but on a small cramped board, they may crowd themselves out.