I need help with a L-100 Hammond amp

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I need help with a L-100 Hammond amp

Hello all, I am new to this blog and amp modification and electronics in general. I have been modifying hammond amps to work as my main amps for my keyboard set up (a Nord Electro and Nord Rack 2x). The Nord sounds sooooo much better through tube amps!!!

So my question, I recently plugged in a stock L-101 (AO-43) rev/power amp and it popped my circuit breaker. I do not know how to test a power transformer to see if it is no good and need to get this amp back up and running asap if at all possible. The only replacmen I could find was the TrekII solid state replacement (replaces the refractor tube & power tranny) but it is supper expensive. Any suggestions on replacement tranny's or how to check to see if it is the power tranny that is bad?

Also dose anyone have schematics to modify this AO-43 to rune 2-6l6's, I'v heard that you can get around 40watts with this amp modified to run 6L6's.

Remove C314 (across the primary) and the rectifier (5U4). Does the breaker still trip? If not, the PT is probably ok. I strongly suspect bad filter caps (C316-319) or a bad 5U4.
    No way to run the amp with 6L6's. You'd need a new PT, new OT, different tube sockets , etc.

Comment

Thanks for the info, I appreciate it a bunch. I will check this Sunday and see what happens. I hope its a cap or rectifier, replacing the PT would be expensive!

Comment

Update: I just removed the rec tube and C314 plugged her in and the breaker did not trip. Im going to order new can caps, 5U4 and see what happens. Thanks a ton for your input and help!

Comment

Yep, seems you're on the right track. Keep us posted.

Comment

I'v heard that you can get around 40watts with this amp modified to run 6L6's.
            The power of each power amp depends from the voltage and current MT from one side and the raa OT and the power tubes on the other side.