peavey triumph 60 problem

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• peavey triumph 60 problem

ok so recently i bought this triumph 60 combo from the 80's or something, and it worked for about 2 months then just stopped. turned it on one day and the front led's lit up but nothing else, no tube glow whatsoever, and a baaaarely audible hum from the speaker, with no sound otherwise.

i sent it back to the guy who sent it to me who put 2 new output valves in and got it working briefly for about a day, although the sound was quite differnt and noticably weaker. then it just died in exactly the same way as before. he didnt say if he'd done any other modifications to it although on examining the chassis it appears both the tone stack and the diode mod have been done...... hmm

im fairly new to tube amps and valves i have next to no idea about the workings of this amp.. so does anyone have any ideas what could be wrong? ive read it could be many differnt things from tubes to transformers
    and any help would be greatly appreciated as i am recording an album currently and the finished product depends on the amp!!

thanks in advance

looking inside there isnt any major sign of damage although there are small brown rings around the solder connecting the tubes onto the pcb, and one of the ribbon cables connecting the output pcb to the preamp pcb has 2 brown burn marks on the plastic connectors and a slight buildup of something on one of the pins. apart from this there is nothing obvious, except none of the tubes glow at all!

Comment

See my response to this over on the Peavey board.

You have lost the heater voltage, and that burnt ribbon connector is probably why.
      Education is what you're left with after you have forgotten what you have learned.

Comment

Hi Enzo