Shielding Pickups

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Shielding Pickups

Hello, Im a newb! Ive been searching high and low about shielding pickups...but there isnt much reference, Ive read like 3 decent write ups(best one by Torres).

I also keep reading reference to SRV's "number one" having shielded pups...but thats it, no pics and no description of how or why. *shrug*

So thats why Im here....hoping someone could elighten me.

Contact AllParts for self-adhesive copper foil. You wrap it around the pickup coil and solder to earth.

That, alledgedly is what the SRV pickups were like.
    sigpic Dyed in the wool

Comment

Yeah, Ive already got the copper tape and have shielded the rest of the guitar...I guess Im just looking for some dirrection, something to copy, something to embelish upon...or even some reasons not to do it.

Comment

Check out these two pages on the audereaudio site:
        http://www.audereaudio.com/FAQ_PUNoise.htm
        http://www.audereaudio.com/FAQ_PUMag_Gnd.htm

Not many pickup winders bother to shield since neither leo nor seth thought it was important.

Comment

Originally posted by ShortBuSX View Post
          Yeah, Ive already got the copper tape and have shielded the rest of the guitar...I guess Im just looking for some dirrection, something to copy, something to embelish upon...or even some reasons not to do it.
          Copper tape works OK, so long as you avoid making a shorted turn, so don't allow the tape to adhere to itself. Put some insulating tape in between.

Comment

Look up guitarnuts.com. There is a section devoted to guitar shielding.

Comment

Originally posted by Joe Gwinn View Post
              Copper tape works OK, so long as you avoid making a shorted turn, so don't allow the tape to adhere to itself. Put some insulating tape in between.
              See, I was considering something(almost identical) like this(from the first link):