Looking for real eyes to examine

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Looking for real eyes to examine

Wow. It has been almost 10 years since I was last around here. Nice to see that this place is still vibrant. Gotta love the DIY generation!

I'm looking for feedback on this amp/schematic (as much as one can give feedback from a drawing) I just built for a friend. I'm no designer. I might be able to pass as a Suzuki violin version of an amp builder. You know, the kind who can read the notes, but has no idea what he is actually playing. I know math, I just don't KNOW this math like I probably should.

Since this is going out for someone other than me and he is very far away, I want to make sure I am not sending something out that will eventually cause a fire and hopefully will last him until he is rich and famous and can buy a real amp from any number of great boutique craftsmen out there.

I made this amp before as a head with 2-6L6s and loved it, so I thought I'd try it with 2-6v6s. It's a bit of a frankenstein. But, I have to say I very much like the way this amp sounds. I may have to build one for myself.

Essentially, it is a hybrid single input, switchable (not indicated on the drawing) preamp with A as a typical Fender pre and B from a typical Marshall pre. The power is pseudo Plexi, except I went with a Cathode bias design rather than fixed. (My PT does not have a bias tap). I had an old chassis with some things still in place from an old build, I used what parts I had around and picked up a few extra to fill in the holes.

I wrote in the voltages on the drawing everywhere I thought they might matter. My big concern is the plate dissipation of the output tubes. I hear cathode bias supposedly can run hotter, but this hot? If not, how would I get the current down without pumping up the cathode resistor anymore? Just seems large even now. But, like I said, I am not a designer, so I don't know. Nothing is glowing. So I guess I'm OK?