Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Stereo looper pedals - which ones split wet/dry (loop/live)?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Stereo looper pedals - which ones split wet/dry (loop/live)?

This is long and overly specific, but I've read tons of threads on tons of forums and only come up with contradictions and misinformation, and checking various instruction manuals isn't turning up what I need.

I need a looper stompbox for live overdubbing. I've never used a looper before. I'm the only guitar player in my band and I currently use two amps - a stage left (amp A) that sends from its FX loop to the stage right amp's (amp B) FX return. So the preamp tone from amp A goes to both amp A and amp B power amps. Right now I have a 100% wet 7ms delay between amp A and amp B, to give a little bit of a stereo effect playing live.

I want to incorporate live looping into this setup, with the looper pedal in between amp A and amp B. Because amp A is only sending, it will be dry all the time and unaffected by the looper. What I want is for amp B to be "100% wet", that is, only play the loop, so that it sounds like two guitar players while I'm looping. But then I want to be able to switch it off and have both amps playing unison again... then record a new part on the fly and toss it to amp B again, rinse/repeat.

So I don't really need a stereo loop pedal, just a loop pedal that will do 100% wet mix on the output and not let any of the live sound through, but then go to bypass when it's off. Make sense? But I don't think any of the simple mono loopers (like the RC-2) can actually do this.

Seems like a stereo looper would maybe do it... sending dry stuff left and loop right, or something. So I could use the effected side and not the dry side to get what I want. But I've looked through instruction manuals for the RC-2, RC-20XL, JamMan Stereo, Headrush, etc., and can't tell how they route signal.