building 6aq5 based harp amp 6x4 rectifier12ax7 preamp

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• building 6aq5 based harp amp 6x4 rectifier12ax7 preamp

Hi does anyone know of a schematic I could use that would use these tubes. I have a chassis with these tubes and transformers that look good they are labeled C-9.281 (515 613) and C-9 264-E(515 623) The amp was one I bought as parts had a 6at6 wired in as well outputting to a 4 ohm speaker. I would like to built something like a champ or a kalamazoo model 1. My problem is I am a complete novice so need something I do not have to know how to adapt values etc. I am learning as I go here is a pic.Click image for larger version

Name:	P1030840.JPG
Views:	1
Size:	2.88 MB
ID:	863360

Just go to google images and type in "50's amplifier schematics" or whatever gets you some scats. Get the diagrams of the tubes. The 6AQ5 will give you a solid 2 watts output.

Comment

The Kalamazoo used a 6BQ5 Kalamazoo Amp Field Guide: Model 1 Schematic
      This amp uses a 6AQ5 but with 5Y3 rectifier http://www.angelfire.com/vt/audio/se6aq5schem.gif
      Originally posted by Enzo
      I have a sign in my shop that says, "Never think up reasons not to check something."

Comment

The Kalamazoo Model 1 needs a dual triode (12AX7) as a preamp tube which requires a 9 pin socket. A 6AT6 won't have enough gain, you will just barely be able to overdrive the 6AQ6. If you don't want to modify the chassis to install a 9 pin socket, one option would be to use a 6AU6 pentode as the preamp tube. There was a Silvertone amp that used that tube, I'll look for the schematic.

Link to Kalamazoo schematic, the one above is blocked: http://www.el34world.com/charts/Sche...oo_model-1.pdf