How to interpret scope waveforms for guitar amps

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How to interpret scope waveforms for guitar amps

Is there a source for understanding how to interpret scope waveforms specifically for guitar amps?

I have just got my first scope, a Tek 465 that arrived today, and have searched the subject here and through google but with no luck. Maybe I am using the wrong search words. I am new to this.

Here are my first test waveforms taken on a junk SE Champ circuit. I could hear the test signal coming out of the little pea size OT, even though I had a dummy load :-)
    Click image for larger version

Name:	first scope waveforms.gif
Views:	1
Size:	204.2 KB
ID:	863716
    Image 1. Sine wave measured at input
    Measured at the Output:
    Image 2. A wobbly form which is, I think, due to the strange oscillation-like noise this amp sometimes makes at zero volume. It settles down by turning it up.
    Image 3. Volume at 9 o'clock: a drop down peak emerges at the bottom & the upper waveform seems to swing more than the lower half.
    Image 4. The glitch gets larger as the gain is rolled to maximum, now the lower half of the waveform seems to have more swing than the upper one.

Any pointers to this could all mean, or should I just scope every amp that I can get my hands on to get a grip on it?

Best, tony

3 and 4 are way into the clipping territory.

Try turning your sig gen down, does the output clean up?

Comment