Help determining output impedance.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help determining output impedance.

I'm trying to determine the output impedance of my Lifco Cobra Mark II amp head. I'm using this guide Output Transformers and Impedance and a few others and since I'm very new to this I just want someone to help me confirm that I'm doing it correctly and not missing something.

I'm connecting a 12v AC wall wart to the tube side of the output transformer (the smaller one near the output tubes). I've removed the tubes (not sure if I have to) and connected the 12 volts with aligator clips to the pins of the tube that lead to the transformer. My volt meter gives me a measurement of 0.2 volts at the output jack. Which leads directly from the transformer.

12 divided by .2 gives me 60. so the turn ratio is 60:1.

60x60=3600

3600 x 2 ohm load would give me 7200 which is probably correct for this amp with 2 6V6 power tubes.

So does that seem right? Am I missing something? One thing I am wondering is should I have disconnected the leads of the transformer from the circuit before I do this?

I have been running this amp with a 16 ohm cabinet. :O

Thanks very much for any input.
    Last edited by DLNB; 08-04-2011, 03:28 PM. Reason: left something out

I tried this again using a slightly larger ac power supply. This one puts out 14.7 volts. I get a return of .3 volts. My last reading was probably .29 or something. My multi tester only measure to one decimal.

This gives me a turn ratio of 49:1
    49 x 49 = 2401

4 ohm load = 9.6K
    2 ohm load = 4.8k

- Two 6v6's in the amp so I want around 8k?

So a 4 ohm cab would be my best bet? Just looking for confirmation that I'm not making a newbie mistake here. I really like the amp and I want to use the best matching cab possible.

Comment