Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Intermittent buzz in reverb

Hi,

I have have a problem with my 15-year old Polytone Mini-Brute. It will occasionally develop a buzz. When I switch polarity of the on-switch, it usually goes away. But then after 5-10 minutes it may come back, but if I switch the switch again, it goes away. It also goes away if I turn the reverb down to zero.

Background: I'm the original owner, but there is a lot of where and tear - I was a cruise ship musician for years so it has been shipped several times and it has been in a lot of salt air. I recently replaced the power transistors (with the help of this forum) and also replaced the reverb pan. But the problem existed before I replaced the reverb pan and I'm pretty sure before the transistors.

Any ideas?

Regards,
    Kevin

Every time you flop the switch, the SNAP sends a little sharp vibration through things. So we need to know if it is flipping power on and off briefly is the thing or if the vibration is the thing. Simply done. Next time it develops its buzz, don;t flip the switch, unplug the amp from teh wall and right back in. This will interrupt the power same as a switch, but without any physical vibration inthe amp. Any change? And alternatively, when it happens, leave the switch alone, but ball up your fist and whack the top of the amp. Does whacking the amp cause the buzz to start or stop? If so, that means a loose connection.

Now more specifically, since the reverb seems to be central, pull the rever pan and pull out each cable connector, then push it back in. We want to refresh the contact of the plugs inthe jacks of the reverb pan.
    Education is what you're left with after you have forgotten what you have learned.

Comment

Originally posted by Enzo View Post
      ...Next time it develops its buzz, don;t flip the switch, unplug the amp from teh wall and right back in....
      The buzz stopped.