No announcement yet.

Roland D-50 D50 keyboard repair forum..

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Roland D-50 D50 keyboard repair forum..

Hi. I'm new at the computer and don't even know if I'm doing this right, but the Key Transpose, Chase, and Portamento buttons on my D-50 don't work and one of the keys sounds louder than all the others and if I could get help with these problems and/or get one of these D-50 service manuals I would greatly appreciate it. Any advice on how to download it and print it would also be welcome. I have Windows XP if that helps.

Hey Vern.

If those are push buttons on the panel, then a good possibility is that the tiny push switchs under the panel button needs replacing. Usually they are common types, available at places like Mouser.

I don;t know which format the key switches are in, probably rubber contact strips. There will be two contacts under each key. When you press a key, it closes them. One slightly after the other. The computer in the machine uses the amount of time between the two closures to calculate how fast you pressed down the key. We call that velocity sensing. If the second contact is stuck closed, then the instant the first one closes, the computer senses the second, and assumes the maximum velocity. Thus maximum loudness for that note.

SOmetimes just removing the rubber contacts, cleaning them and the board they are on, and reassembling will cure things. But look close at the rubber for that key and see if it is damaged in any way there.

If the key contacts are metal blades, see if the normally open blade is bent up towards the moving blade.
    Education is what you're left with after you have forgotten what you have learned.

Comment

Originally posted by Enzo View Post
      Hey Vern.

If those are push buttons on the panel, then a good possibility is that the tiny push switchs under the panel button needs replacing. Usually they are common types, available at places like Mouser.