Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Steel rod suppliers for making steel pole pieces?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Steel rod suppliers for making steel pole pieces?

I want to start making steel pole pieces for my pickup design and need to know some good suppliers and what kind of steel to get. How do you make the faces of the pole pieces shiny and smooth as well?

Make them yourself unless you got a billion orders
    If you are asking this question ...hehe
    Is google broken ?
    Search ..you can find the answer here
    "UP here in the Canada we shoot things we don't understand"

Comment

Originally posted by copperheadroads View Post
      Make them yourself unless you got a billion orders
      If you are asking this question ...hehe
      Is google broken ?
      Search ..you can find the answer here
      Boy, you're loads of help! I never thought to use the search funtion...

Of course I googled it, but I'm a noob who doesn't know 18-8 from 1210 (whatever that means) and was wondering if some folks here had some suppliers they had good result with.

Comment

Depending on your location, you can check for local steel supply houses. This is where I order my rod and flat stock. Most of the steel I use is made at a small steel mill in upstate New York. As for the grade of steel to use, that is completely up to you as I don't know what tone you are going for in your pickups
        Bill Megela

Electric City Pickups

Comment

Originally posted by Bill M View Post
          Depending on your location, you can check for local steel supply houses. This is where I order my rod and flat stock. Most of the steel I use is made at a small steel mill in upstate New York. As for the grade of steel to use, that is completely up to you as I don't know what tone you are going for in your pickups
          Aha! I didn't know that different grades of steel give different tones! Has someone made a list here or can you tell me the differences?