Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Help! Closing a show for Dick Dale this Friday and have a question about new 6L6s.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help! Closing a show for Dick Dale this Friday and have a question about new 6L6s.

First post here. Hello all.

I've heard it said that Dick Dale uses Rubys these days but that is beside the point. I'm not trying to sound like him at his own show here in Rochester, NY this Friday.
    And yes, my local surf band is actually following Dick Dale.

The Winged C 6l6gc's in my blackface super reverb need replacing, and quickly.
    Problem is: My trusted supplier (KCA NOS) has stopped carrying them because of a recent price increase.
    Second problem: I don't trust the practices of the other suppliers. I have no idea what their knowledge is or what kind of testing equipment they own.

Have any of you found something that is comparable to the Winged C 6L6?
    What are your experiences with other suppliers?

I'd hate to make a change like this right before such an important gig. For some reason I think those winged c are in a class of their own.

Regards,
    Josh

Originally posted by mr5f6a View Post
    ...yes, my local surf band is actually following Dick Dale.

Don't sweat it.
    Just borrow Dick's amp.

Glad to be of service,
    rjb
    Wise-Ass-at-Large
    DON'T FEED THE TROLLS!

Comment

He's one of those Maryland wise-asses.

Comment

Problem is: My trusted supplier (KCA NOS) has stopped carrying them because of a recent price increase.
        Second problem: I don't trust the practices of the other suppliers. I have no idea what their knowledge is or what kind of testing equipment they own.

I'd hate to make a change like this right before such an important gig. For some reason I think those winged c are in a class of their own.

Regards,
        Josh
        Josh,

Why not contact Mike at KCA and ask what he recommends? You mention you don't trust other suppliers.