course /study / learning electronics

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• course /study / learning electronics

I am new to tube amps and electronics I was an electrician but am retired now .Does anyone know a crash course I can take to give me the basics of electronics. What I need to know right now is what the different tubes do like what is the difference between 6L6 tubes and 6V6 is there something that tells the different functions of different tubes.

That is a far leap
    From basic electronics to how a tube works.
    Welcome to the world of 'Solder Sniffers'.
    First off, there is a reason for each tube.
    Just as there is a reason for different transistors.
    The 6V6 & 6L6 tubes are power tubes.
    There is very little voltage amplification but they are very good at delivering power to a load (P=V x I)
    The 6V6 is rated to deliver x amount of power to the output transformer.
    At a rated voltage, output configuration, load.
    The 6L6, generally, is capable of more.
    And in being capable of 'more', it requires more.
    A larger power supply capability, a different bias arraingement, a different output transformer.
    That is my 'nutshell'.
    I hope it helps.

Comment

Yes it does help very much ! It tells me that just changing the tubes won,t work without changing allot of other things of witch I am not in the know (YET)Click image for larger version

Name:	little amps 010.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	2.53 MB
ID:	827291 here is a pic of one of the little amps I am wanting to make into a harp amp it is a Magnavox, It is the one with 2 50EH5 tubes and one 9 pin tube with the numbers/letters are gone what tube do you think it is it is shorter and bigger around than the 2 50EH5,s

Comment

That appears to be a 'stereo' amp.
        2 channels utilizing a 50EH5 output tube.
        Each 50EH5 has an output transformer attached.
        The small tube could be a number of different tubes.