big lot of questions

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• big lot of questions

basically i have a fair few questions that ive slowly been turning around in my head and want to confirm my theoretical thoughts that are based on my logic and the little knowledge i have built up from the internet.

id apreciate if i got some responses but understand if you dont want to reply or read this as it is fairly long.

firstly the basics

1. inductance > basically the amount of metal around the magnets. more coils=higher inductance metalic cores/magnets increase inductance. higher inductance will muddy up the pickup but give it higher output. am i right in saying that alnico magnets add to the inductance as they are metalic structures?

2. output> i am curious wether it is infact the higher resistance of the coil or if it is a higher surface area of the magnet wire that increases the output? im not an expert but surface area seems more probable. would a similarly designed pickup, where the only difference is the magnet wire gauge, would there be any difference other than the lower gauge (bigger wire) being warmer due to the larger coil? (thats winding to the same resistance, not coils)

3. how do magnetised poles (steel of some sort) effect the sound as opposed to rods of the magnet itself? (lets say they are both alnico 5 to keep it the same). how do they effect the output aswell as their magnetic effect on the strings?