Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Plate voltage of NOS RCA and NOS Tung Sol??

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Plate voltage of NOS RCA and NOS Tung Sol??

Greetings!

Wow, it's been ages since I've been here, but it's good to be posting again. I'm in the market for some nice 6V6 tubes, and I'm thinking about picking up either a pair of NOS RCA or NOS 1960's Tung Sol. I have a Swart AST Master 112 combo, and I was told by Michael Swart that the tubes have to be able to handle 405 volts. I have been using Tung Sol 6V6 re-issues but the amp fries them after a couple of months as they are only rated for around 300-350 volts. JJ 6V6 work fine, but I don't like the tone from them.

So if I am going to spend some money on some nice tubes, I want to be sure that they won't cooked in two months. Can anyone tell me if either of those tubes can handle 405 volts?

Regards, Jared Purdy

My 79 Champ came with an RCA 6V6GTA when I bought it, about 6 years ago. Runs ~425 on plates, forget what I have the screen at. Never had a problem with it in the years I had it til I decided to retire it when I got some more Used Old Stock tubes. I still have the RCA. Right now it's got a Sylvania, been in for about a year, no issues. I tried EH - smoked a pair within a month (shorted). And someone else here suggested that it's not necessarily the voltage that kills (NOS) tubes, it's overdissipation and/or current. Buy a nice old tube and don't bias it too hot and you'll likely be okay. Just make sure it's a 6V6GTA - the newest version of the old tube. We've got a GT lying around that I'm tempted to try, but it's not mine... but as always, no guarantees... And, neither of those NOS tubes are spec'd to handle over 360V! Fender just liked to abuse them, I guess. But they've served well for a while now, huh?

HTH,
    Justin
    "Wow it's red! That doesn't look like the standard Marshall red. It's more like hooker lipstick/clown nose/poodle pecker red." - Chuck H. -