B-52 amp head Buzz?static

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• B-52 amp head Buzz?static

Hi, My B-52 amp head has a buzz or static noise….cord is ok,different guitars all do the same buzz. I need to fix this issue because the band plays at a loud volume. When I'm not playing the buzz noise is very annoying. Input jack is tight,I tried grounding the input jack to a external ground (the ground from the circuit panel "green wire"). I have no problem opening up the chassis and exploring the issue. I'm a retired Fighter Jet electrician and have knowledge of electronics. Actually not sure why I haven't fried my self yet?
    Thank You,
    Dennis
    Msgt USAF retired

Originally posted by bouttree View Post
    Hi, My B-52 amp head has a buzz or static noise….cord is ok,different guitars all do the same buzz. I need to fix this issue because the band plays at a loud volume. When I'm not playing the buzz noise is very annoying. Input jack is tight,I tried grounding the input jack to a external ground (the ground from the circuit panel "green wire"). I have no problem opening up the chassis and exploring the issue. I'm a retired Fighter Jet electrician and have knowledge of electronics. Actually not sure why I haven't fried my self yet?
    Thank You,
    Dennis
    Msgt USAF retired
    Swapped cord for known good cord - check
    Swapped guitar for known good guitar - check

Loose input jack is the next thing I would have checked, too. Verify that the contacts in the jack are tight against the plug when inserted?
    Does the noise go away when nothing is plugged into the amp? If the noise is only present with something plugged in, it indicates the jack or the cord.

Is the noise present, does it change somewhat, or does it go away as the volume control is turned to zero? do the tone controls have any effect? These can indicate where in the circuit the noise is generated (or isolated).