Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Windows XP. End, or what?

Chaps,

anyone know about Windows XP? Ive heard it will 'end', or something, but cant get basic clarification on what exactly is going to happen on www (its all company based Q/A's, or complicated stuff).

Ive been running XP for nr 10 yrs, its just fine for me. I know how it works. And, as Ive recently got an older silversurfer up and running with XP after painstaking days & days worth of pg1 tutorials as its nice and basic layout.. so I was dismayed to hear (from him!) 'XP is gonna end in April'. He thinks Ive fobbed him off.

But what is going to "happen" (anything at all/ is it a scare story?) to my/ our computers?? will it still work?

thx SC.

It means Microsoft is not going to engage in any more effort to provide patches, or security updates, or bug workarounds. Essentially, their shift is over and you're on your own. If you can manage that, then the announcement is no big deal.

Comment

I had no idea 'patches, or security updates, or bug workarounds' were ever applied to my XP. I know it occasionally said 'windows is updating' and then an hr or so of god-only-knows-what I waited for, or just left it to its own to do.. so what was this doing? (bug workarounds.. what on earth is this? I know I added Microsoft Security Essentials myself which I assume is a bug thing, so what is bug workarounds?). Chrissakes this is doing my nut in.

Comment

MicroSoft is ending the 'support' of the XP operating system.

In a nutshell, if you go on the internet, you should upgrade to a newer operating system.
        I have been on web pages (Fender for one) that will not even let you in if you are running XP with IE version 8.

XP, as good as it is, is getting a bit long in the tooth.

When they came out with Vista & Windows 7, the 'security' of the operating system itself, as far as hackers getting in to your sytem, was vastly changed.
        There was a total rewrite of the system.