Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Bass amp

Hi all.

Our bass player turns 40 around Christmas time, and I'm thinking of surprising him with a new bass amp. I have built three guitar amps so far, so I do have some experience with building tube amps. But I have never built a bass amp before.

We play rock'n roll ala Tom Petty, ZZ Top, Bon Scott-AC/DC etc, and he is now using a totally beat up Ampeg.....something 350W transistor amp into an Ampeg 4x10" cabinet. Lots of crackling and humming etc. He really needs a new amp. We mainly play clubs/large pubs.

I have been looking at the West Grande amp, schematic here:

http://westlabs.com/Schematics.HTML

It looks very straight forward, few components, probably a fairly easy build, and I can easily get the parts. My first tweaks on this would be to increase the PI input cap and decrease the amount of negative feedback. And use KT88's.

My questions:

Do you think this will make a good bass amp?
    Do you think 2xKT88 is enough for a bass amp?
    How many plate volts do I need to get the KT88's sounding at their best?
    (No voltages are shown on the schematic.)

Thanks in advance.

Jan

For a Bass rig, there's no substitute for headroom (power).
    If the guitar players are running anything bigger than a Deluxe Reverb, I'd encourage you to go for the Fillmore over the Grande.

I notice that the output tubes and OT are an Ultralinear setup - that's supposed to be a good way to get more power out of a given set of tubes - but I can't really say anything intelligent about it.

Comment