450V DC cables & connectors..?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 450V DC cables & connectors..?

I'm trying to design a modular system to cut costs which puts a rectifier, a set of transformers and a couple of power stages in one box so they can be shared between different amps. This "big box" would pass high voltage DC straight off the rectifier to a smaller box which contains power supply circuitry and preamp. The smaller box would feed B+ nodes (power tube plates, screens, and phase inverter plates) back to the bigger box.

Click image for larger version

Name:	modular-1.png
Views:	1
Size:	54.0 KB
ID:	868579

I'm a bit of a noob at amp building so I'd like to ask for some advice about passing high voltage DC back and forwards like this. 6V heater supply I think must be in a separate, screened cable. Are there any lead dress issues with the power tube plate, screen, and phase inverter B+ together in one 3-core cable? Also, can I put rectifier DC and ground together in one 2-core cable?

If this is viable I was thinking about speakon connectors but it looks like they can't handle such high DC voltages. Any suggestions what I could use instead?

Incidentally, this whole plan started when I couldn't decide between a Matchless Spitfire or a 5E3 Deluxe. Funds are tight so I can only build one. Then I realised I could share transformers to cut costs. Then I discovered the \13 CJ11 shares (almost) the same power stage as the 5E3, and the Goldtone GA15 power stage is near identical to the Spitfire. Also, if you're building a Spitfire, it's fairly simple to add a Lightning option as well.

So that's five great amps. If I can find more designs which can all use the same transformers and power stages a modular design makes a lot of sense. Adding a new amp just means building a relatively simple preamp and power supply circuit, dramatically cutting costs and workload.

If not, I'll just put the above in one big box.