Les Paul supreme wiring problem

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Les Paul supreme wiring problem

Hello, This is my first post here. I have been playing guitar for forty eight years and have been working on them for over twenty. I bought a fake les paul supreme on a whim and really like the ax. I've had dimarzio dp100's in it since I first got it. I decided to put some EMG's in it so I bought an 81 and a 60. I put them in and had no control over volume. I've tried several different pots with the same result. I finally completely rewired it from the toggle to the jack and still I have no control over the volume. I'm really at my wits end here. I hope someone has a clue as to what I'm doing wrong. Any suggestions would really be appreciated.
    Thx a mil in advance,
    jukeman

Can you provide us with a diagram of how you currently have it wired?

The pickup signal should go to the outside of the volume pot and the center of the pot should be your output. And, of course the other outside lug will be ground.
    "I took a photo of my ohm meter... It didn't help." Enzo 8/20/22

Comment

It would be extremely hard for me to do a diagram of it. The only thing unusual about the way I have it wired is the ground from the toggle runs straight to the jack, since the EMG's don't need a ground to the pots. I have one lug soldiered to the pot case and I have the treble pickup lead running from the toggle to the center lug on the volume and the pickup lead running to the other outer lug. The same for the rhythm pickup. I have the positive from the toggle running to the stereo jack and the hots to the pickups run to the jack.

Comment

So you have one lug of the volume pot soldered to the pot case. But, is the pot case grounded to the rest of the circuit? All of your grounds must be tied together.

BTW, your EMG's are grounded when you plug in a cable. The ring and sleeve are shorted together by the plug completing the circuit.

Comment