Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Locating point of broken wire in cables.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Locating point of broken wire in cables.

I was wondering if anyone has a clever solution for finding location of broken wires in multicored cables, headphone cables, and any other audio type cables.
    I have tried various tools without much success. These include a homemade TDR, and AC mains sense pens.
    I found this » CABLE TRACKER WITH TONE GENERATOR » Test & Measurements » Cable testers », whilst googling around.
    Anyone ever try one of these?

I'm a retired Comm tech phone office installer.
    We used the Triplett brand fox and the hound tone generator.
    It worked great.
    Sometimes we would have cables running between floors with cut or broke leads.
    You could pin point the break pretty close the best I remember.
    If you know a phone installer he may have one on his truck he might let you try?
    T
    "If Hitler invaded Hell, I would make at least a favourable reference of the Devil in the House of Commons." Winston Churchill
    Terry

Comment

Big Teee, sounds promising. Do you have a pic?

Comment

I use one of these.

Not the best but it serves it's purpose.

Cable Distance Meter Cable Fault Finder VDV501 089 from Klein Tools | eBay

Click image for larger version

Name:	$_1.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	24.6 KB
ID:	837297

Comment

Looks like they modernized it a bit.
          Amazon.com: triplett fox and hound

The girl doesn't come with it!

"If Hitler invaded Hell, I would make at least a favourable reference of the Devil in the House of Commons." Winston Churchill
          Terry

Comment