New amp design

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New amp design

So first, a bit of quick background. I have nearly completed an amp design that I got help with on diyaudio, working through the various stages of the design. This is my first build from scratch (I've done a bit of tube amp repair work and low voltage stuff). I've decided that my design that I did on diyaudio is too much for a first build. I still plan on building it, but with 2 channels, 3 pre-amp stages, reverb and tremolo (6 tubes in an SE amp), it just seems like I'm asking for trouble making it my first build (it's my dream amp, though, so I'm going to build it!)

So I took a step back and threw together something much simpler.

It's a straight-forward basic design, for the most part. Here are a few notes about it:

1> In the first stage preamp, the "squish" control is a sort of compression control. This is used in the AX84 blues preamp. I believe it's also discussed in Merlin Blencowe's "Designing Tube Preamps for Guitar and Bass" book, but I can't find it at the moment.
    2> Instead of going with a tone stack, I stole the idea of the rotary selector with different cap values ala Matchless DC30 and a couple others I've seen. I threw in some values, but in reality, I'll probably go with a 3 or 4 position rotary switch and just find a few values that I like.