empty wire spools

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• empty wire spools

I have been winding for a few years now and have accumulated a large collection of empty 5kg spools (10lb for American folk)

its time for a clean out and wondering what you all do with the empty spools.... it kinda seems a shame to just put them in the recycling bin

I am sure I am not the only one with a collection of empty spools

any ideas or uses for them?

fab

I put them in the recycling bin.

Comment

Not really.
      Same here, have a lot and feel it's a pity to let them go but never found a real use for them.
      Juan Manuel Fahey

Comment

I put some extra guitar cable on one of them.
        Then when you need a little guitar cable take it off the spool.
        Beats it laying in a knot.
        T
        "If Hitler invaded Hell, I would make at least a favourable reference of the Devil in the House of Commons." Winston Churchill
        Terry

Comment

I have been sending spools back to the manufacturer for a long time, call whoever made the wire and see if they want them.

Comment

Plastic recycling is (mostly) a scam, there's no market for used plastic. Send back to Mfg. sounds good if possible.

Or maybe Hippy doll house furniture?
            Click image for larger version

Name:	5178907803_8d4517b2b9.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	246.0 KB
ID:	841401

Comment

Beg to differ on the statement "there's no market for used plastic".

Have you seen the 'wood' that fixers are using for porches & decks?

It's a preformed plastic with interleaved wood filler.

The 'market' is huge.

Plastic boards from 100% recycled plastic. We ship USA.

Just sayin'.

Comment

I agree although I think most recycled plastic is "downcycled", soda bottles become carpet, etc.

Comment