Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Echoplex EP3 won't record

Hello:
    I am trying to fix this unit. I have never worked on one before.
    I can get a signal through it but there is no echo. All I have is a new blank tape
    so I put a signal generator probe near the playback head and I get a signal through it.

I originally found 2 electrolytic capacitors wide open so I changed them and 5 others
    for good measure. All the heads read ok resistance wise. The schematic calls for 37VP-P
    and I only had 13VP-P so I adjusted the bias and now it is correct. The manual says the
    frequency is 100KHZ but I read 72KHZ. I don't know if that's a problem or not.

All DC voltages on transistors read good except Q4. It calls for 14.3 on the collector and I have
    13V. It calls for 2.2V on the base and I have 2.6V. The emitter calls for 16V and I have 2 volts.

I changed the transistor even though it checked ok.
    I have attached the schematic.

Thank you.
    Tom
    Attached Files

Originally posted by Tech. Tom View Post
    All DC voltages on transistors read good except Q4. It calls for 14.3 on the collector and I have 13V. It calls for 2.2V on the base and I have 2.6V. The emitter calls for 16V and I have 2 volts.
    Have you tested the components connected to the emitter of Q4?

If you send an audio signal into the input can you trace it through Q3 and Q4 to the record head?

There are specific directions on how to adjust the bias trimmers. They are all based upon signal levels and not so much in voltage readings. Once you get it working, I'd suggest that you reset the trimmers to match the specs.

Comment

When you say you get signal through it, you are talking about dry signal but no recovery from the head at all?