Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Yamaha EMX-5000-20

Hey,

So i am relatively new to this world (running sound for about 5 years all self taught), i currently run sound for our small church and i want to learn more to improve on what we hear each week. Our current board is Yamaha EMX-5000-20 and we run two main speakers direct from board and 1 Aux line direct from board (neither the mains nor the monitors are powered). We have one wireless mic and 7 wired mics ( very old wired mics), we have a Keyboard and an electronic drum set that run through a jam hub and into the board. I have always had problems trying to get the gain structure set and the EQ right. Prior to me stepping in they did not use the faders but used the gain as volume! My first major complaint about what i am hearing and i have tried to fix it is when groups are singing and S sounds are right sharp ( so sounds like ssss, ch's, T's), I play with the hi and the Lows then to the EQ but it does not help, I want to put "air" under them to clarify it but it always seems muffled to a degree... I will attach pictures of what i have set up, please take it easy as i like doing this but just want to make it better. Any questions asked i wil do my best to answer.Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0450.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	35.4 KB
ID:	870716Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0447.jpg
Size:	37.6 KB
ID:	870717Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0451.jpg
Size:	42.9 KB
ID:	870718Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0449.jpg
Size:	39.6 KB
ID:	870719

All my microphones are really old too. They work, what more can I ask of them?

Exaggerated SSSS sounds is what we call sibilance.

Goosing that highest EQ band like that is not helping your sibilance.