Multi-Coil Prototype - Wal-Style Pickup For Guitar

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Multi-Coil Prototype - Wal-Style Pickup For Guitar

My background is 50% guitar & 50% bass, more or less. My first instrument was a bass, and shortly after had to play both for recording purposes.

I'm a big Tool fan, and Justin Chancellor has always been a big influence as a bassist. Consequently, I have more than a passing interest in Wal Basses, Multi Coil Pickups, and Filter-based Preamps.

My taste in guitar tones tends to run on the "dark" side, with lots of low-mid "chug" and a tight low end for the "djug" and then several other vague adjectives

Anyway, some of the qualities I've seen described by using multiple coils sounded like I could probably capitalize on a few of those qualities for guitar tones. I'm actually not 100% confident that it will fit my goal, but I have a feeling that it may work well for the technical/progressive metal acts that use a lot of tapping and articulation.

We'll see

I started out by testing to see what it's like to wind a mono-coil.

Click image for larger version

Name:	MCHB Proto I - 001 - Mono Coil.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	31.1 KB
ID:	870917

This is a .125" steel rod as a pole piece, the coil is a little under .350" tall, and bit over .400" wide. I got 10,000 turns of 44 AWG wire on the coil.

I'm planning on doing a taller coil and adding an insulator around the pole piece, and probably try 8-9,000 winds to start out with. Not sure yet. I also want to see if I could manage a standard .195" pole piece so I could use some off-the-shelf Alnico 5 rods.

To start with I'm using steel rods and varying sizes of neodymium discs (mostly .25" and smaller)

I've also got some .125" neodymium rods, but I'm anticipating them being significantly overpowered. Figured it was worth a fair test, at least.