Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Low DC Resistance and miles of wasted wire

I need to vent
    I am new to winding. I have made about a dozen attempts and only 2 have have up with a reasonable DC resistance the rest keep coming up between 3.8 and 4.3. I am trying Tele neck and tele bridge pickups. 43 wire from Stew mac on the necks and 42 elektrisola on the bridge. I started with spray lacquer for the magnet poles after many attempts and reading on this forum I added Kapton tape over the lacquer, making sure no metal was visible. 8100 turns later I hit 4.3 again. I am assuming it is a short.
    How do you keep the insulation on the wire?
    Do I need to lube the edge of the spool?
    Why after 8000 turns how do I end up with a short within a 500 ohm range again and again?
    Is winding really that delicate?

I have built and/or refurbished over 30 guitar amps. I have build about 15 guitars. How hard can it be to get wire around a spool?

Have you disassembled any of these pickups to do a failure analysis? What kind of tension do you wind with?
    If it still won't get loud enough, it's probably broken. - Steve Conner
    If the thing works, stop fixing it. - Enzo
    We need more chaos in music, in art... I'm here to make it. - Justin Thomas
    MANY things in human experience can be easily differentiated, yet *impossible* to express as a measurement. - Juan Fahey

Comment

Also check for burrs, on the eyelets and fiber. Check the guides too(wire stops).

Comment

Probably damaging the wire before it gets on the bobbin.
        Check the wire guide, that you break it over or under, for roughness.
        You may have bad wire?
        Lots of possibilities?
        Pictures should help.
        T
        "If Hitler invaded Hell, I would make at least a favourable reference of the Devil in the House of Commons." Winston Churchill
        Terry

Comment

Thanks for the replies, frustration is setting in and it helps.
          Tension