Found this old schematic

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Found this old schematic

Hello guys, I'm new to the forum, I'm a guitar tech and just generally interested in audio electronics, especially valves and FX pedals.

My dad was an electronic engineer and I found an old schematic of what looked like an amplifier by him.
    It was on really old paper etc... so I couldn't decipher all of it.

I re-wrote most of it, but I'm not great with figuring schematics out.

Could anyone help me out ?

I'm just wondering where the ins/outs are.
    If there's any way to figure out what the transformer voltages are etc..

Just general help figuring the schematic out, even improving it, or help figuring out if it even works.

I definitely want to give building it a go.

Thanks in advance for any help any of you guys can provide, I'd be over the moon if this worked.
    Attached Files

Nice find.

It appears to me to be simply a power amplifier.

The "IN" is off to the left, at the .01uf capacitor.
    The 100k potentiometer would be a level control.

The output would be taken off of the transformer secondary, the primary being attached to the tube plate.

It is a cathode biased configuration.

I do not 'see' a phase inverter tube.

The whole shebang will need a preamp.

Comment

Ahh thanks man. That's already a tonne of help!

So this is just a power amplifier, that's good to know.

Sorry in advance if I ask any silly questions by the way.

So does there need to be a phase inverter tube?

Comment

It is a single ended amp, so there is nothing for a phase inverter to do. Like a bicycle has no need for a differential rear axle.

The drawing is not complete. Parts are missing. At the volume control, I suspect the input goes to teh top end of hte pot, but the wiper probably alone connects to the rest rather than to the top.