need help w/ ampeg V4

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• need help w/ ampeg V4

my early 70's V4 makes popping noises. it seems to only happen when the volume is up. but once it starts it will continue intermittently even w/ the volume all the way down! none of the tone controls effects the popping. and i've had this problem for almost 2 years. i've opened up the amp on several occasions to change out componants here and there and try to diagnose the issue.
    i've resoldered EVERYTHING on the two main boards hoping to fix a cold joint. and i've tried several known good tubes in all locations.
    here's the weird thing:
    when i use an attenuator for bedroom levels, i can dime the amp hard for 2 hours and not hear a peep. also, i have an ampeg mastervolume pedal for the back of the amp, and when i use that at bedroom levels i can dime the preamp and not hear a peep either.
    does this mean i have a problem in the power section? is it arcing? where should i look? ack!

Ampeg pwr xfrmr too?

Hi, this is my first post here and having experienced a similar problem in a V2 thought I'd share a story which may be of interest.

Of course popping noises can be a bunch of things and intermitent things hard to diagnose, but maybe...
    I diagnosed my pwr xfrmr to be no good...well it was because it was made poorly, this I found out when I removed it for inspection.

Mine was acting strange sometimes really whacky and sometimes okay.Perhaps it was arcing in the HV and shorting out or whatever.. Well I got it to act okay eventually by gently banging it around.Then with great hope that it would stay that way, First thing I did is re-dip it in varnish and bake it, retested and banged it around some more, I dont know what was wrong in there-moisture, oxidzation particles... or thin varnish? Is that why I like these things ...the mystique?
    Works like new now. Just thought this story might help.