need help w/ ampeg V4

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• need help w/ ampeg V4

my early 70's V4 makes popping noises. it seems to only happen when the volume is up. but once it starts it will continue intermittently even w/ the volume all the way down! none of the tone controls effects the popping. and i've had this problem for almost 2 years. i've opened up the amp on several occasions to change out componants here and there and try to diagnose the issue.
    i've resoldered EVERYTHING on the two main boards hoping to fix a cold joint. and i've tried several known good tubes in all locations.
    here's the weird thing:
    when i use an attenuator for bedroom levels, i can dime the amp hard for 2 hours and not hear a peep. also, i have an ampeg mastervolume pedal for the back of the amp, and when i use that at bedroom levels i can dime the preamp and not hear a peep either.
    does this mean i have a problem in the power section? is it arcing? where should i look? ack!

I worked on a V4 with a similar problem. It turned out to be the pre-amp tube sockets. Cleaning & re-tensioning helped but did not solve the problem. I finally replaced them. Try gently wiggeling the pre-amp tubes when the amp is doing the popping and see if it gets better, worse or makes the same type of popping sound. In the amp I was working on it was several sockets contributing to the problem.
    This is just one idea. Hope it helps.
    Tom

Comment

HArd to say. Anything that affects the symptom is a powerful clue. COUld be an arc. Turn out all the room lights and watch the thing carefully for a tiny telltale blue spark somewhere. COuld be something inside a transformer even. If it continues with ALL controls at zero, yes it would seem to be in the power amp or in the power supply.
      Education is what you're left with after you have forgotten what you have learned.

Comment

MOC: