Running out of wire when winding

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Running out of wire when winding

I just finished winding my last coil and noticed the wire left on the spool is very low. I was wondering what procedures other people use when running low on wire. Some possibilities come to mind:
    • Put aside the old spool and use new one. Possibly the experienced eye can tell when there's not enough wire left to complete a coil.
    • Continue to wind with the old spool and splice if it runs out.
    • If the wire runs out, remove it from the bobbin and start over with a new spool.

Since I'm relatively new to winding, I haven't developed the "feel" for how much wire is left. My plan presently is to take the chance and wind another coil. Since the next bobbin planned is very small, it may make it. If not, I'll get the chance to see a bare spool, which will give me an idea of how much wire is left going forward.

Thanks for any shared thoughts.

Bob

If you know the weight of naked spool (a lot of wire retailers use standardized spools), you can weigh yours, subtract the naked weight, and, from the original specs from the seller, work out the length of the remaining wire, give or take a few yards...It saves the trouble of having to start over if you run out too soon.

Comment

Measure the resistance of the leftover wire and estimate compared to a finished coil. I have spliced before with no problems. Just make sure you scrape the insulation off and solder good.

Comment

Interesting, hadn't thought of working off of weight of the spool. That'll take a small bit of research to see how practical. DC resistance sounds good, if the inside end of the wire can be reached without unwinding the spool. I'm not at my shop presently, so can't inspect it for access to the end. I'll check first thing Monday. Thanks guys for the ideas!

Comment

Originally posted by bmcd View Post