Box Design

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Box Design

One of my suppliers in Korea can produce the electronics but, is looking for something new in the way of the box. He thinks that a new shape, color, logo, or magic, will make his boxes more attractive, and they will sell better. I have no experience with boxes other than used a few over the years.
    Do you think he is right?, wrong?, maybe?
    Would anyone be interested in working with him? or maybe entering a "Design the Box" contest with the prize to be a whole lot of pickup parts or other guitar parts?
    Thanks,
    Dennis Antel
    Guitar Parts USA

Originally posted by KinkyWinks View Post
    One of my suppliers in Korea can produce the electronics but, is looking for something new in the way of the box. He thinks that a new shape, color, logo, or magic, will make his boxes more attractive, and they will sell better. I have no experience with boxes other than used a few over the years.
    Do you think he is right?, wrong?, maybe?
    Would anyone be interested in working with him? or maybe entering a "Design the Box" contest with the prize to be a whole lot of pickup parts or other guitar parts?
    Thanks,
    Dennis Antel
    Guitar Parts USA
    I'm sure he's right. The standard powder coated hammond boxes don't do much to set a pedal apart from the gazillion other ones on the market.

The big question is what manufacturing techniques are available for the design? Die casting, stamped metal, CNC engraving, etc.

I've had some success using die cast aluminum, using CNC engraving to do lettering and graphics, and then hand polishing aluminum. But the polishing part is pretty labor intensive. Then you still need to apply some type of clear coat to keep the aluminum from oxidizing.