Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Budda Superdrive 18 series II - volume drop after warmup

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Posts
    6
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 0/0
    Given: 0/0

    Budda Superdrive 18 series II - volume drop after warmup

    Hello all! New to the forum with a sick amp.

    I have a Budda SuperDrive 18 that sounds great for about 20 minutes then the volume starts to fluctuate then finally loses all bass and mids and most of the volume. I have tried new output and rectifier tubes and have been able to reproduce the problem reliably. I took it to a so-called amp repair person in in Anchorage AK (we have basically nobody with amp repair skills here that I know of) and he was unable to reproduce the problem. My guess is he was too lazy to leave it on long enough to actually reproduce it.

    I will likely have to ship it to a repair person or back to Budda, (emailed Budda, no response) but if its something I can possible repair myself I am willing to try as shipping heavy items from AK is very spendy. I have done a couple of minor repairs on some of my amps but I am by no means a tube amp tech. Any Ideas what this issue could be? I hear cold solder joints as the most plausible talking to friends. Also I would like to find a Schematic for my amp. A lot I know.

    Thanks

    Dave

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  2. #2
    Supporting Member Jazz P Bass's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Wernersville, PA
    Posts
    12,251
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 40/0
    Given: 15/0
    Two things that you could try.

    First, run a cord from the FX Send to the FX Return jacks.
    If the Return jack is dirty it will tend to drop the signal going from the preamp to the power amp.

    Second, do you have another speaker to try?

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  3. #3
    Lifetime Member Enzo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Lansing, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    30,209
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 277/1
    Given: 0/0
    Budda is a division of Peavey, try contacting customer service at Peavey.

    I agree with Jazz, THE most common problems with amps losing signal levels and tone is faulty or dirty FX loop jacks.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Education is what you're left with after you have forgotten what you have learned.

  4. #4
    New Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Posts
    6
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 0/0
    Given: 0/0
    So it could be the speaker? I usually don’t use the effects loop. I will test it though

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  5. #5
    don't forget the joker g1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Canada, somewhere north of Fargo
    Posts
    9,952
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 144/0
    Given: 325/0
    The fault we are thinking of is more common when the FX loop doesn't get used.
    There are switches in the jacks that route the signal through when the loop is unused. The switches oxidize and cause dropouts. Putting a patch cord between send and return bypasses the switches in the jacks.

    And yes, it could be the speaker, speaker cable, or any other cable in use.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    The voices in my head are idiots!

  6. #6
    Supporting Member Jazz P Bass's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Wernersville, PA
    Posts
    12,251
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 40/0
    Given: 15/0
    Quote Originally Posted by akadave View Post
    I usually don’t use the effects loop.
    Bingo.

    Exactly why I suggested jumpering it.

    Not using the jack does not mean that it cannot get dirty.
    Probably the opposite.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  7. #7
    New Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Posts
    6
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 0/0
    Given: 0/0
    I will give it a try in the morning when I get it back together. Its kind of an odd duck in my amp collection, everything else is 16 ohm and this little guy only does 4 or 8 ohm so a speaker test may be an issue. Odd that the effects loop would take warmup before having issues.

    Thanks for all the suggestions I will let eveyone know the results. God I hope its that simple!


    Quote Originally Posted by g1 View Post
    The fault we are thinking of is more common when the FX loop doesn't get used.
    There are switches in the jacks that route the signal through when the loop is unused. The switches oxidize and cause dropouts. Putting a patch cord between send and return bypasses the switches in the jacks.

    And yes, it could be the speaker, speaker cable, or any other cable in use.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  8. #8
    Senior Member SoulFetish's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    683
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 31/0
    Given: 17/0
    Quote Originally Posted by akadave View Post
    I will give it a try in the morning when I get it back together. Its kind of an odd duck in my amp collection, everything else is 16 ohm and this little guy only does 4 or 8 ohm so a speaker test may be an issue. Odd that the effects loop would take warmup before having issues.

    Thanks for all the suggestions I will let eveyone know the results. God I hope its that simple!
    I wouldn’t worry about an 8/16 ohm speaker impedance mismatch if your trying a quick audio test of cables or connections. Unless it goes open, your hardly to do any damage to the amp that way. The rated impedance is a nominal impedance at a given frequency anyway.
    But, as long as you have more than one 16ohm speaker handy,just hook two up in parallel to give you an 8ohm load.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    If I have a 50% chance of guessing the right answer, I guess wrong 80% of the time.

  9. #9
    New Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Posts
    6
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 0/0
    Given: 0/0
    Well, I didnt have a lot of time to test last night. I did get the chassis back into the cabinet and then jumpered the effects loop. I played for about a half an hour total and couldnt reproduce the issue. I will clean the jacks tonight and test again. Hopefully this wasnt a fluke and I possibly jostled a cold solder joint in chassis for a temporary fix. We shall see tonight I hope.

    Thanks for all the suggestions guys!



    Quote Originally Posted by SoulFetish View Post
    I wouldn’t worry about an 8/16 ohm speaker impedance mismatch if your trying a quick audio test of cables or connections. Unless it goes open, your hardly to do any damage to the amp that way. The rated impedance is a nominal impedance at a given frequency anyway.
    But, as long as you have more than one 16ohm speaker handy,just hook two up in parallel to give you an 8ohm load.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  10. #10
    don't forget the joker g1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Canada, somewhere north of Fargo
    Posts
    9,952
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 144/0
    Given: 325/0
    If you go to the 'maintenance & troubleshooting' sub-section of the forum, there is a sticky post about "the dreaded switching jack problem" which gives a better explanation of these types of jacks and the related fault.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    The voices in my head are idiots!

  11. #11
    Lifetime Member Enzo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Lansing, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    30,209
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 277/1
    Given: 0/0
    The way to do the test is use the amp as before, and THEN when the problem starts plug the spare cord into the FX loop. If that makes the problem go away, you are there. The key is waiting for the symptom to see if we can cure it.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Education is what you're left with after you have forgotten what you have learned.

  12. #12
    New Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Posts
    6
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 0/0
    Given: 0/0
    I will give it a try tonight. I would have never thought that this was a pervasive problem with tube amps. Some of my amps I do use the loop a lot so, I suppose it makes sense with this one.

    Quote Originally Posted by Enzo View Post
    The way to do the test is use the amp as before, and THEN when the problem starts plug the spare cord into the FX loop. If that makes the problem go away, you are there. The key is waiting for the symptom to see if we can cure it.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  13. #13
    Lifetime Member Enzo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Lansing, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    30,209
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 277/1
    Given: 0/0
    "Tube amp" has nothing to do with it. ANY sort of amp can have a jack problem. it is one of THE most common problems in audio. Tube or solid state, any can have dirty jack contacts.

    Using FX loops usually keeps them clean. It is the return jacks that are never used that accumulate electrical dirt, and thus can interrupt the signal path.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Education is what you're left with after you have forgotten what you have learned.

  14. #14
    New Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Posts
    6
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 0/0
    Given: 0/0
    Sorry I made the distinction. Guitar amp should imply tube or valve otherwise its not much of a guitar amp

    In any event I cleaned the jacks and couldnt reproduce the issue. Im going to tentatively call this fixed...need more time on the amp to be sure.

    Quote Originally Posted by Enzo View Post
    "Tube amp" has nothing to do with it. ANY sort of amp can have a jack problem. it is one of THE most common problems in audio. Tube or solid state, any can have dirty jack contacts.

    Using FX loops usually keeps them clean. It is the return jacks that are never used that accumulate electrical dirt, and thus can interrupt the signal path.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  15. #15
    Lifetime Member Enzo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Lansing, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    30,209
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 277/1
    Given: 0/0
    I wasn't really editorializing. MY intent is to point out to people that troubleshooting is not dependent upon the technology. Many times someone writes in claiming they know how to work on tube amps but can't work on solid state. I feel obligated that the troubleshooting is the same, only the details are different.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Education is what you're left with after you have forgotten what you have learned.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Hot Power Transformer, Budda SD30-II
    By analoguedemon in forum Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Repair
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-04-2015, 04:45 AM
  2. 1 meg Volume pot in a 18 watt Lite II?
    By rockybottom16 in forum Build Your Amp
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-23-2014, 02:52 AM
  3. Budda Superdrive
    By e_c_mccollum in forum Schematic Requests
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-09-2013, 04:51 AM
  4. Budda Superdrive 45 Schematic
    By wizard333 in forum Schematic Requests
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-11-2009, 07:48 PM
  5. Mesa Mark IV lead mode drop out during warmup
    By edge59 in forum Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Repair
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-08-2007, 04:48 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •