Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: furman spb-8c Pedalboard

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Des Moines
    Posts
    218
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 0/0
    Given: 0/0

    furman spb-8c Pedalboard

    Anyone know if I can bump up the ma current for each dc output? I canít power up a few pedals correctly. I canít find a schematic so that is probably the best place to start.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  2. #2
    Supporting Member The Dude's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Sioux Falls, SD
    Posts
    5,210
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 191/0
    Given: 157/0
    I just worked on one of those a week or so ago. Each supply is derived from it's own winding of a toroidal transformer. My worry would be that if you tried to draw too much current from a supply, the transformer may give up the ghost. Each supply is rated at 100mA. I'm curious. What pedals do you have that need more than 100mA?

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    ďYeah, well, you know, thatís just, like, your opinion, man.Ē

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Des Moines
    Posts
    218
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 0/0
    Given: 0/0
    Itís stuff like my electro harmonix memory boy. It makes the modulation real bad. If I run a separate supply, itís happy. Iíve also run across some verb pedals get grainy or eventually just stop making sound.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Des Moines
    Posts
    218
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 0/0
    Given: 0/0
    I looked up the spec on the memory boy and it says 45ma but I promise its weird without a separate power supply ( one spot)

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  5. #5
    Supporting Member The Dude's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Sioux Falls, SD
    Posts
    5,210
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 191/0
    Given: 157/0
    It's odd. The Furman (according to the user manual) is capable of 100mA and, if the spec on the Memory Boy is 45, there shouldn't be current issues. Maybe the filtering is not good enough on the Furman? If it's a current issue, I'd expect the voltage to drop when the pedal is running. Have you measured it? If not, I'd start there. If the voltage drops below what the pedal needs, there could be issues. If the voltage doesn't drop below the 9-9.6 or whatever it's looking for, I'd suspect a filtering problem. You may need to add a filter cap either to the output(s) of the Furman or inside the Memory Boy to clean up the power.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    ďYeah, well, you know, thatís just, like, your opinion, man.Ē

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Des Moines
    Posts
    218
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 0/0
    Given: 0/0
    What do you think, 10uf should be enough? cant hurt to put one on right.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Furman PS-8 Schematic needed (or capacitor part identified)
    By rocknroller in forum Schematic Requests
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 03-26-2018, 02:10 AM
  2. Furman parametric eq distorted
    By bigdrums925 in forum Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Repair
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 02-09-2017, 07:04 AM
  3. Furman RV-1 First version schematic
    By rf7 in forum Schematic Requests
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-05-2014, 10:31 PM
  4. Power Conditioner? Furman?
    By chipaudette in forum Guitar Amps
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 04-16-2010, 09:36 PM
  5. Furman PL-8 Series II
    By lowell in forum Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Repair
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 04-30-2009, 08:04 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •