Excess Clipping/"Farting" in old tube amp

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Excess Clipping/"Farting" in old tube amp

I recently took on the project of restoring an old tube amp of mine. The most simplistic circuit you could imagine for a tube amp. 12AU6, 50C5, 12AV6 tubes into a filter and a micro transformer. I am an electronics student and I am pretty new to this field so bear with me. I have heard and read countless times that replacing the caps is almost mandatory in serving old, unattended guitar amps. There were two caps rated .03-400V and I replaced those with .04-400v. There were 4 other caps rated .05-400V and I replaced those with .06-630V. I increased all of the sizes because I read that doing this will increase the gain in their respective stages. I believe I did this successfully, but although the difference was small, there still was some improvement. I then to replace the resitors...all 6 of them. Pretty much the same deal here. Everything seemed to be fine, and then i woke up one morning and plugged and as the title of the thread would imply, i started getting the "farting" type response. The volume seemed somewhat lower and the performance was clearly lower. I dont really know where to start in checking this problem out. any assistance would be awesome

My first question to you would be to ask if the amp is farting as in low frequency motorboating or is the low end caving in and distorting momentarily? Two totally different problems with different cures.

But to help you along somewhat, you took a good first step by replacing all the E-lytics in the amp. Now what you've got to look for is any dc on the grids of the tubes. If there's ANY present, then you most likely have a leaky coupling cap. Another thing is to try replacing the tubes with known good ones. This may not be the solution, it sure is a quick and easy thing to check.