Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Ignorant question about DC resistance

Hello all,

I am a newbie here and want to understand how everyone relays the DC resistance of their pickups to their customer. I ask this simply because when I measure say a P-90 coil with no magnets or lead wires attached, I get a different reading than when I wax pot, install leads and magnets. It seems like the other pickup makers use the DC resistance before the wires are attached and wax potted. Because they are way off from the stated DC resistance. Is that why? Thanks.

DC Resistance is only one measurement

Pickup vendors choose to describe their pickup products in ohms because it is a covenient and relative (to other brands or models) measurement that can be easily done with a common, inexpensive Volt Ohm Meter (VOM).

The DC resistance should stay constant whether the metal slugs are in or out of the pickup. The only change, when slug cores are added, is the coil impedance which is also called Z. Z is the AC impedance and changes with fequency, unlike resistors which have a constant Z at all frequencies.

Inductor Z increases with increasing frequency while capaitor Z decreases with increasing frequency. All coils also have capacitance due to the thousands of turns of wire laying close to each other with very thin insulation. In addition to pickup inductance usually measures in Henrys (H), coils also have a phantom capacitance characteristic measures in pf that when combined with the inductance, causes a pickup to have a certain resonant point. This resonant point occurs when the Z of the inductance component matched the Z of the phantom capacitance component and forms a parallel resonant circuit. This is what gives each pickup a characteristic sound.